AFYA CO-OPERATIVE SAVINGS AND CREDIT SOCIETY LIMITED P.O. BOX 11607-00400, NAIROBI.

26th March, 2025

CIRC/VOL.III/35	
TO:	All Election Nominees All Members

RE: BRANCH BY-ELECTIONS YEAR- 2025

Following the successful nomination process, we would wish to inform you that the society will conduct Branch By-Elections on **4**th **April**, **2025** between **12.30pm and 2.00pm** in branches where we have successful candidates as listed below;

Bondo, Bungoma, Bureti, Garissa, Ijara, Kakamega, karatina, Keiyo Kericho, Makindu, Marakwet, Mbeere, Migori, Moyale, MTRH, Nyeri MOH, Portreitz, Tharaka, Tigania, Trans Nzoia, Vihiga and Voi Branches.

The By-Elections will be carried out in accordance with Afya Sacco Society Limited **By-law No. 37.**

1. ELECTION PROCEDURES

- a) The interested candidate will be required to submit his/her nomination certificate. The Returning Officer will thereafter call out each of the names to the floor and request for a proposer and seconder.
- (b) The elections method may be acclamation in the case of unopposed candidate, show of hands, queuing or secret ballot as the case maybe.
- (c) To qualify to vote, the Society's members will be required to identify themselves by producing two current payslips to the Returning Officer. The

- payslip should show that the voter or the person being voted is from that particular branch.
- (d) Voting will be on the strength of one man one vote.
- (e) Voting by proxy is prohibited by law and will therefore not be allowed.
- (f) The elected representatives will sit immediately on the same day to elect amongst themselves officials Viz Chairman, Secretary and the Treasurer.
- (g) To facilitate organized elections the Medical Officers of Health or the Chief Executive Officers of institutions are expected to provide the necessary venue and to release all the members in the spirit of Co-operation. They are also requested to give the Returning Officers all the necessary assistance possible.

(2). OTHER REQUIREMENTS

- (a) As stipulated in the Society's By-laws (by-law No.31(i), prospective Branch delegates should be members from the same branch otherwise no member is allowed to vie for or vote in an election in a branch other than where he/she is stationed.
- (b) The policy of the Society is that serving delegate should be at least 21 years of age and not more than sixty (60) years at the time of contesting. Any delegate who will attain the age of 60 years will cease to be a branch representative and a by-election will be conducted at the branch for replacement.
- (c) The Returning Officers are requested to forward the elections results to the Secretary-Vetting Committee (Chief Executive Officer) on the same day **(4th April, 2025)** to facilitate compilation of a register for the delegates who will attend this year's Annual Delegates Conference.
- (d) Should there be a dispute over the election, the Medical Officer of Health or the Medical Superintendent is authorized to receive a memorandum from the protesting candidates and forward to the Chairman, Afya Sacco Society Limited Vetting Committee within seven (7) days from the date of elections.
- (e) All members are requested to participate fully so as to exercise their voting rights.

- (f) The Returning Officer will forward the names of the elected officials which shall include among others: -
 - (i) Name
 - (ii) Payroll Number
 - (iii) Membership Number
 - (iv) Station
 - (v) Designation
 - (vi) National Identity Card Number
 - (vii) Cell Phone Number
 - (viii) Email address

This circular is released to all members who are expected to vote for candidates of sound mind, good character and of high integrity as the running of the Society affairs will be entrusted to them.



(Florence W. Gatheru) SECRETARY — VETTING COMMITTEE

CC.

- The Principal Secretary Ministry of Co-operatives & Micro, Small & Medium Enterprise (MSMSE)-Development.
- The Principal Secretary State Department for medical services
- The Principal Secretary State Department for Public and Professional Standards
- Commissioner for Co-operative Development.
- The Chief Executive Officer Sacco Societies Regulatory Authority
- The Director General of Medical Services
- The Director: KEMRI, KALRO, SHA, KNH, KMTC and MTRH
- All County Directors of Medical Services.
- All County Commissioners.
- All County Directors of Co-operatives.
- All County Co-operative Officers.
- All Sub-County Co-operative Officers.
- All Members' Notice Boards.